Expansion of “Real Housewives” Series Sheds Light on American Values

Those who know me best know that I am a reality TV junky to the core. While the truthfulness of reality TV is always up for dispute, I just can’t seem to help myself. Of course, the guiltiest of my guilty pleasures is the “Real Housewives of…” – well, every city in the nation apparently.

Yesterday, I got 3 messages (via text, Facebook and e-mail) from friends telling me that there was going to be a new DC version of the show. For some reason, I thought I’d be more excited than I was, but then it hit me: there’s something about brand loyalty that I really respect – and when you’re slapping your brand on every city in America – the show loses its unique appeal. Orange County and New York represent widely-known pockets of wealth within our nation. In fact, I’d presume that nearly every young person has at one time in their life desired to abandon their roots for a chance to make it in the big apple or head out West to sunny California.

When Bravo made the decision to create an Atlanta series, followed by shows in New Jersey and now reportedly DC, the storylines presented are no longer those of opulence – they merely serve as a metaphor for the greed that persists in our nation, despite the economic struggles many in our country are currently facing.

The “Real Housewives” name is no longer one of distinction – it is, at its base, a reflection of the American values that got us here in the first place: the need to “Keep up with the Joneses.”

~ by laurawoods on May 27, 2009.

Leave a comment